Reviews

We’d Love to Hear About Your Experience!

Traditions On The Beach, the favorite amongst locals for Sanibel Island Restaurants, welcomes feedback as a part of our ongoing effort to deliver top quality dining experiences. Please help us continue to learn and grow by filling out the form below. We appreciate your input!

5 star rating Awesome! Best food on Sanibel and great service!My husband, infant, and I came here for drinks and dinner. We got the lobster ravioli and the seared crusted tuna. Highly recommend when you're visiting Sanibel island! - Kelly B. - 8/31/2022 

5 star rating Best food ever Rge restaurant is plain but has a piano player and wonderful food!
Wait staff is great. Very friendly. Quant. They do t skimp of alcohol. - Fran N - 8/29/2022 

5 star rating Although we love those hot spot restaurants on Periwinkle Way- closer to the Bay serving shack-ish but outstanding seafood fried grouper baskets, fried shrimp baskets, the steamers, etc- it's just really nice to have an old-school and classy restaurant with white table linens and waiters in classic jacket uniforms.

And while we didn't stay at their on-site Island Inn, hubs still managed to reserve for a Saturday dinner here. We had a ball the first we came here to celebrate my June birthday a few years ago and since then, if we want a different type of flair WITH live music AND dancing, this is where we come.

The food is very tasty, service is extremely attentive and the music duo during our Saturday dinner belted out Frankie Valli tunes, some Earth, Wind & Fire, Bonnie Rait and a few others- including some Bruno Mars (for the young teens and such). We like it here. Plus Traditions brings those old-school days of dinner (which is tasty) and dancing. I couldn't ask for more when we came here. - Mercedes C. - 8/14/2022 

5 star rating Great Bar We stay at the Island Inn every year and we love to go to the bar once or twice while we are there. The specialty drinks are always great. The atmosphere is pleasant and relaxed. It's so nice to be able to go out for a drink and not have to drive anywhere. - Patricams - 7/28/2022 

5 star rating This is a hidden gem!!! We're visiting Sanibel this week and are staying on the property that hosts this amazing spot. Danny and Carlo are wonderful bartenders with great personalities! They make a delicious dirty martini.

The first thing I love is the piano band that played this evening. The duo saying a wide variety of songs that I share to satisfy every persons liking! The dance floor in the middle of the restaurant was full of happy customers dancing the entire time.

Now the food- it's amazing and very reasonably priced for the flavors and portion sizes. We shared escargot and a crab and ricotta stuffed manicotti. For entrees, we had the veal and artichoke which was in kind of a piccata sauce and it was amazing. We also had the giant grilled prawn scampi and it came with the best pasta with fresh tomato sauce. YUM!

BUT the real star of the night truthfully was their bread and butter served with the most amazing eggplant and tomato spread. I would eat a giant bowl of just this, it is that amazing.

If you're here, definitely give this place a try! It is great place to dress up a little and have a fun night and yummy meal! - Emily O. - 7/03/2022 

5 star rating Excellent. Must try! The staff is impeccable, the food is divine. The atmosphere is hands down the best experience. We don't stay on property
, but we enjoy dinner here every night we are in sanibel which is twice to three times a year. - Amanda C. - 6/29/2022 

5 star rating Jazz and exceptional food made anniversary special Our anniversary dinner was wonderful from beginning to end. An appetizer of mozzarella & tomato salad piqued our palates. We enjoyed grilled beef mignon with roquefort fonduta and the grouper special (with a scallop on top!). The sauces made both of these divine. Vegetables were fresh and cooked perfectly. We finished with a gelato trio. Curt, our server, was attentive but not hovering.
Maybe the best part of the evening was listening to Danny Sinoff on piano, with his bass playing friend. Mostly jazz, some Sinatra, all easy listening. We'd enjoyed Danny's music years ago at Ellington's and tracked him down via Trip Advisor's Forum. Visit Traditions for that special meal; you won't be disappointed.
Traditions might be considered "Old Florida" style; it was outstanding in all ways. - Ann E - 6/10/2022 

5 star rating Delicious I ate here two times for dinner while staying at the Island Inn, Matthews Lodge - I had duck one night and filet mignon with vegetables the other evening. Both times the waiters were great and very delicious meal! A little pricey for me, but I wanted to treat myself. I believe that this older building is going to be torn down and new building going up next year - in case anyone read the reviews about the carpet! - WinterandHope - 6/07/2022 

5 star rating Traditions on the beach Stopped at the bar for a quick drink before dinner - rum punch was excellent. Danny our server seated us for dinner. Danny was wonderful, attentive, we felt special. Danny was extremely knowledgeable about both the dinner and drink menus. My husband had veal and I had the filet. Both were exceptional! It was a wonderful meal in a beautiful setting. If you go, please say hello to Danny for us! - mcacri - 5/26/2022 

5 star rating One-of-a-kind. My favorite Sanibel restaurant. It's like a wedding reception every night. Live music and a dance floor with everyone from kids to grandparents cutting a rug. Traditions is not just a place to get dinner. It's a no-rush place to spend an evening. On the pricier side, but the food and drinks live up to the price tag. There's always birthdays and anniversaries being celebrated on any given night. I always feel transported back to a simpler, carefree, community oriented time at Traditions. Only negative is if you're looking for a place for a quiet conversation, Traditions is not it. 5* for the overall unique experience.

5* = incredible (rare)
4* = very good/ strong desire to return
3* = generally good experience
2* = poor/ no desire to return
1* = a particularly awful experience - RegularGuy R. - 5/17/2022 

4 star rating First off, get Linda as your server if you can. One of the hardest working and most personable waitresses you'll ever see. The food was excellent all around for our family, from appetizers to entrees to dessert. The portions are generous and the prices quite reasonable even in a resort location. The music duo were cute, folksy, and helped set a casual mood. Our only concern was the host who first tried to seat us in the worst table in the place, by the back door. We had to refuse, to end up being seated in the lighter front area where there were still free tables. I get the sense regulars get favored status here, which is short-sighted since you need to cultivate new regulars to thrive. - James W. - 4/17/2022 

4 star rating My only complaint with this My only complaint with this establishment is the smell. We almost had to leave as the musty smell was overwhelming. It’s the dry time of yr abs this shouldn’t be. Food was excellent and service good. We had the duck and it was amazing! They had a piano man who kept us unite entertained. I would give you 5 stars if you find the source of that awful smell- carpet? Thanks! - Worldtraveler6191 - 4/08/2022 

5 star rating Probably the first time I have no photos.

We made reservations for 8pm on a Friday night. This is a popular place for dancing. There were a lot of parents dancing with their kids. The singer and pianist took requests and did everything from slow dancing to soft rock. They even threw in some line dancing.

Service may have seemed a little slow but they were packed and it gave us time to dance.

If you want a place to take a date or the family and not just stuff your face and leave, this is a good place.

Meal starts with warm crusty bread and soft butter. Food is full of flavor and the vegetables are crisp.

We plan on making this part of our annual trip to Sanibel Island. - K L. - 4/07/2022 

4 star rating Dinner experience -Historic setting on the beach We enjoyed a nice dinner at Traditions on the Beach at a window table with a beach view. We had excellent service from Joe. My husband and I shared the spinach salad and their shrimp cocktail. I enjoyed Tradition’s black grouper special with the scallop. My husband also really liked his lobster, shrimp, mussels pasta special with choice of sauce type. While we didn’t dance, we enjoyed listening to the music and watching other diners dance. It was a lovely dinner in the Historic Island Inn. - kattriprevus - 4/07/2022 

5 star rating Unbelievable Setting ! Simply Irresistible comes to mind when thinking of Island Inns fabulous, "Traditions On the beach restaurant". The character, warmth, scrupulous food along with picturesque views of Sunset will not disappoint you. Our family has enjoyed the welcoming greetings from Andrea, and the amazing service from his family and staff. See you again in November. For those who are fortunate to be on Island be sure to book Easter dinner and dancing. The Parsons ☀️ - H3227KHlaurenp - 3/24/2022 

5 star rating Worth Every Penny! Thank you, Danny, for a lovely experience at Traditions! As our server, you took care of all of our needs and gave us great menu suggestions. The duck entree was amazing and so was the “by the glass” Cabernet. Make this one of your dinner stops during your Sanibel stay! - D3248RHmaryc - 2/28/2022 

5 star rating Unbelievable Setting ! Simply Irresistible comes to mind when we think of all the wonderful times we have had at Traditions. From the ambience of Sun Set Views,Special Drinks,Gourmet Dinners and after diner dancing and Andrea's and staffs personal touch.. WOW says it all. Make your reservation for no disappoints upon arrival. Enjoy a piece of Sanibel's Paradise. We will be back soon... David & Denise Parsons - 4Sanibel - 1/12/2022 

5 star rating We have tried a lot of restaurants on the island and don't let this unassuming place keep you away. It was one of our favorite cocktails and meals. Started with Sanibel Sunset and then onto any one of their great salads and a must is the lobster ravioli. Truly worth returning for this! Music was enjoyable as well- fun evening. We will return. Very nice staff as well. - Lisa D. - 1/11/2022 

4 star rating Almost great Arrived Christmas day for a five-day stay at the Island Inn (Traditions is their on-sight dining venue). The restaurant staff was amazing from the initial seating through the end of the night which was spent at the bar. The host and hostess made us feel like the family.

The lobster bisque was amazing; unfortunately the appetizer and entrees were just above average. I had the scallops and wife had the chicken...sadly, nothing to write home about.

Like I said, the staff was good to go, the food was just okay. - Gunner0721 - 12/28/2021 

4 star rating Came here with a large group and the greates pleasant surprise was LIVE MUSIC! The couple performing had incredible breadth and great voices for golden 80s type music. The crowd looked like that age demographic too.

Food was pretty good. We had assortment of apps --seared tuna was good, others just OK (shrimp, spring rolls, crab cakes). We had the filet and the grouper. Filet was good (even though the waiter said they couldn't guarantee it would be medium rare), but grouper disappointing. The tiramisu was terrific.

We danced the night away and had a great time. So come for music, tuna, steak and tiramisu! - Kathy T. - 12/11/2021 

4 star rating Thanksgiving Dinner - 3 days ago My wife and I and our children and grown grandchildren ( 9 adults) had Thanksgiving Dinner at Traditions on the Beach. We had a great table overlooking the water and our waiter, Tony was excellent. The food was very good. We had reservations for 4:30pm and were promptly seated. Although the service was slow, (it was Thanksgiving and the restaurant was full) we did not mine because we not in a hurry and we were enjoying the atmosphere. The one thing that bothered us was that the owner came over to us right after I paid the bill (which was close to $1000 with the tip, and indicated that we should move to the lounge if we wanted to talk. I did not see any people waiting for the table. Other than that, it was a great Thanksgiving. - bilcon - 11/28/2021 

5 star rating You won’t be disappointed! Everything was top notch. We are staying at the Island Inn and it’s a perfect location. Food, service, atmosphere, and live music was great. - KevinM552 - 11/13/2021 

4 star rating What About Those Oysters!!! Stayed at the Island Inn and ate here twice during our stay. Guests of the hotel get a one time 15% discount . Marie was our server and was excellent. My husband likes Espresso Martinis a VERY certain way and Marie delivered his wishes perfectly to the bartender.
Hubby raved about the New Orleans Oysters offered as an appetizer so much that he had them again later in the week. Best he has ever had (and he has oysters every where we go). My meal choice of shrimp scampi the first evening was more enjoyable than the chicken marsala I ordered at our second visit. He had what we New Yorkers call Fra Diavolo. It was called something else here & He enjoyed it.
Delicious Key Lime Pie which I ordered to go.
Entertainment both evenings. The Place was jumping on Wednesday evening. Everyone was dancing . Great fun.

(Better lighting between the resort and the restaurant would be beneficial. It was dark and someone could get injured) - Antsgirl85 - 11/07/2021 

5 star rating Anniversary Dinner! Had our anniversary dinner at Traditions since we were staying at the Island Inn. The staff was wonderful, thanks Marie for the great service. The food was very good, nice dinner music while we ate as well. Great ambience and friendly atmosphere. Worth a night out at Traditions. - toddsandy - 10/25/2021 

5 star rating Everything on the menu is fantastic. Definitely go early for tapas, and stay for the music. If you are looking for a great evening of fine dining, music and top of the line service, this is the place on Sanibel. Carlo behind the bar and Andrea greeting every person, makes every night special. You really can't go wrong at Traditions. - Kevin W. - 10/19/2021 

5 star rating Nick provided great service. food was wonderful.
he Gave honest opinions about menu
itemsLive music was fun
surf and turf was tasty and filling.
Salmon was a giant serving. - Pa B. - 10/11/2021 

5 star rating Wonderful Tapas Happy Hour David, the bartender is a pro. Welcomed us with a friendly smile and offered suggestions for cocktails and food. Both the Tapas and drink selections are top notch!
We plan to have dinner in their gulf front restaurant later this week. - karenfZ1386NI - 10/06/2021 

4 star rating No sunset views but food is good Went there for a special anniversary dinner hoping to enjoy a sunset but with a neighboring building blocking the sunset I’m not sure how anyone ever really has found this place notable for sunsets. However the food was amazing. Lobster ravioli and key lime pie were best on the island. Service was good too. The music was a fun touch, but definitely more of the 60+ crowd. - 101jessicau - 10/02/2021 

4 star rating We chose Traditions on the Beach for our end of trip dinner with all the adults from our group. This is a large, high quality restaurant adjacent to a beach resort. Despite the name, the tables are inside a building and not actually outside on a beach. Which was good, because it was intermittently rainy the day we were there.

This is a restaurant that highly prizes service. Everything was polite, prompt and thoughtful, with many small touches enhancing the experience.

The menu is broad and creative, with a wide range of interesting dishes and new twists on favourites. We all found something great to order. Cost was about $70/head including drinks and some desserts, which seemed like a good value for the quality.

I had the lamb (which was great) and soup, and my wife had the surf and turf which was also great. Flavours were good, but not amazing.

This was a great experience. I would come back again for sure. - Martyn L. - 9/18/2021 

5 star rating Wonderful Meal and Service - Great Way to Celebrate Our 42nd Anniversary We decided to celebrate our 42nd wedding anniversary (8-17-2021) with a dinner at Traditions at the Island Inn on Sanibel Island, Florida. We were staying at the Inn so no driving necessary. We arrived early on that Tuesday evening so we had the choice to enjoy the 3 Course Early Sunset Menu. We knew we were in for a great night when our super special server Antoine came to our table.
After selecting a very nice Malbec wine, we enjoyed the french bread served with both butter and a great eggplant spread then we both ordered the Organic Greens Caprese salads, For our entrees, my wife ordered the Artichoke Chicken Piccata without capers (too salty for her) and I ordered the Pepper Steak & Frites with a Cognac Green Peppercorn sauce. For dessert, my wife ordered the Tiramisu and I ordered the Key Lime pie. Every dish was exceptional - we loved every bite. During the meal we also enjoyed great background dinner music by Danny Sinoff and Friends. Antoine and the rest of the staff at Traditions surely made our special night one to remember fondly. We highly recommend Traditions, especially for a special occasion. - Larry K - 8/26/2021 




Connect on Facebook


Upcoming Events

Sat 24

CLOSED FOR IMPROVEMENTS

September 4 - September 26

HOURS OF OPERATION

Our Bar & Dining Room are OPEN
Monday-Sunday, 4PM-Late

RESTAURANT CLOSED:
•06/17/2022•
•07/04/2022•
•9/4/22 - 9/26/22•
•12/11/22•
•01/15/2023•
•02/12/2023•