Reviews

We’d Love to Hear About Your Experience!

Traditions On The Beach, the favorite amongst locals for Sanibel Island Restaurants, welcomes feedback as a part of our ongoing effort to deliver top quality dining experiences. Please help us continue to learn and grow by filling out the form below. We appreciate your input!

5 star rating Everything on the menu is fantastic. Definitely go early for tapas, and stay for the music. If you are looking for a great evening of fine dining, music and top of the line service, this is the place on Sanibel. Carlo behind the bar and Andrea greeting every person, makes every night special. You really can't go wrong at Traditions. - Kevin W. - 10/19/2021 

5 star rating Nick provided great service. food was wonderful.
he Gave honest opinions about menu
itemsLive music was fun
surf and turf was tasty and filling.
Salmon was a giant serving. - Pa B. - 10/11/2021 

5 star rating Wonderful Tapas Happy Hour David, the bartender is a pro. Welcomed us with a friendly smile and offered suggestions for cocktails and food. Both the Tapas and drink selections are top notch!
We plan to have dinner in their gulf front restaurant later this week. - karenfZ1386NI - 10/06/2021 

4 star rating No sunset views but food is good Went there for a special anniversary dinner hoping to enjoy a sunset but with a neighboring building blocking the sunset I’m not sure how anyone ever really has found this place notable for sunsets. However the food was amazing. Lobster ravioli and key lime pie were best on the island. Service was good too. The music was a fun touch, but definitely more of the 60+ crowd. - 101jessicau - 10/02/2021 

4 star rating We chose Traditions on the Beach for our end of trip dinner with all the adults from our group. This is a large, high quality restaurant adjacent to a beach resort. Despite the name, the tables are inside a building and not actually outside on a beach. Which was good, because it was intermittently rainy the day we were there.

This is a restaurant that highly prizes service. Everything was polite, prompt and thoughtful, with many small touches enhancing the experience.

The menu is broad and creative, with a wide range of interesting dishes and new twists on favourites. We all found something great to order. Cost was about $70/head including drinks and some desserts, which seemed like a good value for the quality.

I had the lamb (which was great) and soup, and my wife had the surf and turf which was also great. Flavours were good, but not amazing.

This was a great experience. I would come back again for sure. - Martyn L. - 9/18/2021 

5 star rating Wonderful Meal and Service - Great Way to Celebrate Our 42nd Anniversary We decided to celebrate our 42nd wedding anniversary (8-17-2021) with a dinner at Traditions at the Island Inn on Sanibel Island, Florida. We were staying at the Inn so no driving necessary. We arrived early on that Tuesday evening so we had the choice to enjoy the 3 Course Early Sunset Menu. We knew we were in for a great night when our super special server Antoine came to our table.
After selecting a very nice Malbec wine, we enjoyed the french bread served with both butter and a great eggplant spread then we both ordered the Organic Greens Caprese salads, For our entrees, my wife ordered the Artichoke Chicken Piccata without capers (too salty for her) and I ordered the Pepper Steak & Frites with a Cognac Green Peppercorn sauce. For dessert, my wife ordered the Tiramisu and I ordered the Key Lime pie. Every dish was exceptional - we loved every bite. During the meal we also enjoyed great background dinner music by Danny Sinoff and Friends. Antoine and the rest of the staff at Traditions surely made our special night one to remember fondly. We highly recommend Traditions, especially for a special occasion. - Larry K - 8/26/2021 

5 star rating Great evening! We were a party of five did not have a reservation but was seated immediately. The service was exceptional as well as the food. I will definitely be returning back for another meal. - 926athenam - 8/14/2021 

4 star rating Definitely caters to an older crowd, but as long as you don't mind that vibe, the service and food are quite good. Made a delicious vegan option for us (grilled veggies and a Moroccan couscous plate). - A D. - 7/26/2021 

5 star rating Our new favorite restaurant! This is an amazing restaurant! Service was impeccable. Michael tending to each and every need. His years of experience was easy to see. We were seated at a window table with a beautiful view. Our food was amazing the seafood tower was chilled perfectly and our Carpaccio was amazing as was the clam chowder was thick hot and full of clams. Our meals were served hot and the expertise on plating was well noted. Every dish was amazing. We were lucky enough to visit on a Tues. When they have live Jazz music which we throughly enjoyed. They even took requests and played Girl From Inpanema. One of my favorites. This is a hidden gem on Sanibel. This was our 1st time but it will not be our last. This is my newest favorite restaurant in Sanibel located inside the Island Inn. - Donna M - 7/22/2021 

5 star rating This place is appropriately named! Lots of classy touches that made this the hidden gem of Sanibel. It's quieter and off the main strip of Sanibel, located at the Island Inn on W. Gulf Drive. Lovely seating with ocean views await. Formal type dining room though many guests were casual. Live music, with one man playing both piano and saxophone (make sure to tip!). Very good service. Loved the Sanibel sunrise drink. Excellent and varied kids menu! Delicious bread and key lime pie. The vegetable pasta was good, and the salad was dressed in a surprisingly delicious tropical vinaigrette dressing. My mom loved it and wants to come back here first next time we are on the island! - Sarah S. - 7/18/2021 

5 star rating Relatively expensive but worth it, ask to be served by Michael! One of the very few Sanibel / Captiva restaurants that are on the beach. Cuisine was excellent++, and service by long time team member, Michael, was over the top. He could write his own ticket at any of the best restaurants in America. His wife, Rebecca, owns/runs McIntosh books in Sanibel, so a shout out to her and her fine store that we also went on to patronize.

There is spacious dance floor, and entertainment by Dean was superb. The restaurant is ideal for a special night out, or any night out. - loubetti - 6/19/2021 

5 star rating We have been to The Bubble Room (3 hour wait/food was okay/$100 for 2), Mucky Duck was decent $100 for 2, Island Cow was okay too. This place was better food than any of the other pricy places. We spent a little less than $100 for 2 of us. While I wish there were no sauces on my filet, I gave the place a 5. Steak fries were fresh and hot, bread was hot and delivered with butter and a deliciously seasoned olive oil. My shrimp cocktail was MUCH better than any of the restaurants I mentioned above. The creme brûlée was great. Our server, Paul, was extremely attentive... as were the other staff assisting him. The crowd was lively... not just 70 year olds as someone previously stated. I have never been a fan of live music; however, the performers we saw were talented and chose songs based on the audience. It did throw off a bit of The Love Boat vibe from the 70's-80's but we enjoyed ourselves. I felt the food was much better than The Bubble Room or Mucky Duck. - Lori J. - 6/11/2021 

5 star rating Wonderful exquisite food we ate the lobster ravioli and was as good as we ever had it. - Alberto D. - 6/05/2021 

5 star rating My husband and I truly enjoyed this hidden gem. The atmosphere, location, live music and food were all exceptional. We sat with a party of 19 but staff was prompt and courteous. The restaurant is located just feet from the ocean. I'll definitely come back. This is a nice place to bring family and friends when visiting. - Cynthia B. - 6/02/2021 

5 star rating Probably the best restaurant on the island. They had a live pianist which added to a lovely evening, - Kate V. - 5/23/2021 

5 star rating Wedding dinner here! LOVED THIS PLACE! I reserved a table for dinner after my beach wedding. The staff was fantastic! The food and view fabulous and the entertainment live music The Dusk was the icing on the cake. Thank you Traditions for making my wedding reception dinner a memory of a lifetime! - Peaches5522 - 5/12/2021 

5 star rating Absolutely EXCELLENT! Did the $30 option that included an entree, main dish, and dessert. Caesar salad, Bistecca Al Gorgonzola, Key lime pie. The salad was good! The Bistecca Al Gorgonzola(which was a Filet Mignon with Gorgonzola cheese with vegetables) was outstanding! I couldn't believe how great it tasted. The key lime pie was also really good! Definitely a great place and atmosphere-and not too bad of a deal either! Recommend! - Hey W. - 5/06/2021 

5 star rating Recently held a dinner party for 7, celebrating my wife's birthday on a busy Saturday night. The atmosphere was lively, not boisterous. The food was outstanding. We started with an abundant assortment of chilled on ice, Lump Crabmeat, Oysters and Shrimp, complimented with a dozen Oyster Rockefeller. Each of my guests ordered dinner from the menu, the selections were varied, each drawing rave reviews. I left the wine selection to the owner; Andréa's paired a wonderful selection of French white and red wines for the meal. This was a special evening, and the entire staff was remarkable. Michael our head waiter was what every diner hopes for when dining out, a server that is knowledgeable, helpful and not overbearing. The meal was brought to a remarkable conclusion by the serving of a decadent Chocolate cake and complimenting Champaign with a dazzling presentation selected by the owner. Kudos to Andréa's and his entire staff for making this special night a special evening. I do not want to be remiss in mentioning the live entertainment that evening, a lively duo that played a good variety dinner and dance music. This is a restaurant that is not only for special occasions but a great place for couples and groups. - Ted J. - 4/26/2021 

5 star rating Phenomenal, Food, & staff Recently held a dinner party for 7, celebrating my wife’s birthday on a busy Saturday night. The atmosphere was lively, not boisterous. The food was outstanding. We started with an abundant assortment of chilled on ice, Lump Crabmeat, Oysters and Shrimp, complimented with a dozen Oyster Rockefeller. Each of my guests ordered dinner from the menu, the selections were varied, each drawing rave reviews. I left the wine selection to the owner; Andréa’s paired a wonderful selection of French white and red wines for the meal. This was a special evening, and the entire staff was remarkable. Michael our head waiter was what every diner hopes for when dining out, a server that is knowledgeable, helpful and not overbearing. The meal was brought to a remarkable conclusion by the serving of a decadent Chocolate cake and complimenting Champaign with a dazzling presentation selected by the owner. Kudos to Andréa’s and his entire staff for making this special night a special evening. I do not want to be remiss in mentioning the live entertainment that evening, a lively duo that played a good variety dinner and dance music. This is a restaurant that is not only for special occasions but a great place for couples and groups. - tjimports - 4/26/2021 

4 star rating Went there on April 15, 2021 good food and great music. Will be back next year.
Frank - Frank F. - 4/22/2021 

5 star rating greatness there is so much greatness here food view and service to name a few

it was convenient for us after a long day in the sun with so much relaxation needed even more so went for dinner what a great experince - Lesley B - 4/01/2021 

5 star rating Today after a beautiful long day at the beach, I stumbled across Traditions on the beach. I got a cocktail at the bar and an appetizer.... WOWEE!!!!!! Carlo is amazing!!!! His amaretto sour is the perfect drink... everyday haha. The next day I went back for lunch and DINNER HAHA!!! It was delicious!! GO HERE!!!!! Authentic Italian... you will not regret it. - Scarlet O. - 3/31/2021 

4 star rating Food was good, live music. Have an early bird dinner special. Told them it was my mother's birthday and they brought out a small cake (typical) but also charged us for it. First time for everything I guess. - Ariana S. - 3/25/2021 

5 star rating Absolutely wonderful My Aunt and I experienced a fantastic meal at this restaurant! We went early and ordered from the Early Bird menu. Paul our waiter for the evening was so helpful and made suggestions for our meal. I had the Bifstek au Gorgonzola and it was to die for!!! The Caprese salad was almost too beautiful to eat but we did and it was great!! And desert was just as good. Reasonably priced for the food.

I would go back time and time again for this meal and others. Cudos to the chef that night! - N9233YAsharonn - 3/17/2021 

5 star rating This was our first time visiting Traditions on the Beach and it won't be our last. The food, service, and ambiance were wonderful! Our waiter, Paul, was so attentive and knowledgeable about every menu item. Each dish we ordered was fresh and very tasty. We drove from Cape Coral to celebrate my birthday and it was definitely worth the trip! - Karen M. - 3/06/2021 

5 star rating Excellent food. I had the divers scallops with fettuccine Perfect. Tony was my server, very attentive. - Alison M. - 3/03/2021 

5 star rating I absolutely love going to this restaurant. Aside from their amazing blending of flavors and food, their Italian dishes are absolutely delicious. Their crafted cocktails are unmatched in my mind and I LOVE their amaretto bitter cocktail, and their tequila drink is dangerous haha. The atmosphere is comfortable, classy, and laid-back and everyone does their job so well. Parking is ample and easy. I love their jazz nights and the fact that they have a dance floor. It's like you are a part of their family every time you have dinner there. Don't miss out, and try 'Traditions' - Ashley A. - 2/25/2021 

5 star rating My husband and I are celebrating our 30th aniversary and stopped for happy hour here. Superb place. We had a glass of wine and a glass of white sangría with some appetizers. As good as it gets! A real gem. - Isabel U. - 2/23/2021 

4 star rating This is an upper-scale restaurant with great food and crafted drinks. I had the veal with artichokes....outstanding, and a couple of old fashions (they were among the best that I have had). The rest of our party enjoyed their dishes equally. There was a female trio playing music and they were very good. They made the whole dining experience better. I would suggest this restaurant if you don't mind paying a bit more, cause you will get your money's worth! - Roger I. - 12/10/2020 

5 star rating Awesome vintage Sanibel feel with great food/drink As you walk into the bar you ight think that you have time-warped back to the set of 'Dirty Dancing.' This resort has that sort of timeless feel and a lot of great old photos on the walls to tell the story. We usually hang at the bar and grab a crabmeat cocktail (lump cram meat in a martini glass). Delicious, and the actual martinis are pretty damn respectable too. - Jason S - 12/06/2020 




Connect on Facebook


Upcoming Events

Sat 23

Dusk

October 23 @ 6:30 pm - 9:30 pm

HOURS OF OPERATION

Our Bar & Dining Room are OPEN
Monday-Saturday, 4PM-Late

CLOSED SUNDAYS
Now thru 10/17/21

SEPTEMBER VACATION CLOSED DATES
9/5/21-9/23/21
Reopening on 9/24/21

CLOSED FOR PRIVATE EVENTS

Saturday, November 6, 2021

Saturday, January 16, 2022

Sunday, February 13, 2022