Reviews

We’d Love to Hear About Your Experience!

Traditions On The Beach, the favorite amongst locals for Sanibel Island Restaurants, welcomes feedback as a part of our ongoing effort to deliver top quality dining experiences. Please help us continue to learn and grow by filling out the form below. We appreciate your input!

5 star rating One-of-a-kind. My favorite Sanibel restaurant. It's like a wedding reception every night. Live music and a dance floor with everyone from kids to grandparents cutting a rug. Traditions is not just a place to get dinner. It's a no-rush place to spend an evening. On the pricier side, but the food and drinks live up to the price tag. There's always birthdays and anniversaries being celebrated on any given night. I always feel transported back to a simpler, carefree, community oriented time at Traditions. Only negative is if you're looking for a place for a quiet conversation, Traditions is not it. 5* for the overall unique experience.

5* = incredible (rare)
4* = very good/ strong desire to return
3* = generally good experience
2* = poor/ no desire to return
1* = a particularly awful experience - RegularGuy R. - 5/17/2022 

4 star rating First off, get Linda as your server if you can. One of the hardest working and most personable waitresses you'll ever see. The food was excellent all around for our family, from appetizers to entrees to dessert. The portions are generous and the prices quite reasonable even in a resort location. The music duo were cute, folksy, and helped set a casual mood. Our only concern was the host who first tried to seat us in the worst table in the place, by the back door. We had to refuse, to end up being seated in the lighter front area where there were still free tables. I get the sense regulars get favored status here, which is short-sighted since you need to cultivate new regulars to thrive. - James W. - 4/17/2022 

4 star rating My only complaint with this My only complaint with this establishment is the smell. We almost had to leave as the musty smell was overwhelming. It’s the dry time of yr abs this shouldn’t be. Food was excellent and service good. We had the duck and it was amazing! They had a piano man who kept us unite entertained. I would give you 5 stars if you find the source of that awful smell- carpet? Thanks! - Worldtraveler6191 - 4/08/2022 

4 star rating Dinner experience -Historic setting on the beach We enjoyed a nice dinner at Traditions on the Beach at a window table with a beach view. We had excellent service from Joe. My husband and I shared the spinach salad and their shrimp cocktail. I enjoyed Tradition’s black grouper special with the scallop. My husband also really liked his lobster, shrimp, mussels pasta special with choice of sauce type. While we didn’t dance, we enjoyed listening to the music and watching other diners dance. It was a lovely dinner in the Historic Island Inn. - kattriprevus - 4/07/2022 

5 star rating Probably the first time I have no photos.

We made reservations for 8pm on a Friday night. This is a popular place for dancing. There were a lot of parents dancing with their kids. The singer and pianist took requests and did everything from slow dancing to soft rock. They even threw in some line dancing.

Service may have seemed a little slow but they were packed and it gave us time to dance.

If you want a place to take a date or the family and not just stuff your face and leave, this is a good place.

Meal starts with warm crusty bread and soft butter. Food is full of flavor and the vegetables are crisp.

We plan on making this part of our annual trip to Sanibel Island. - K L. - 4/07/2022 

5 star rating Unbelievable Setting ! Simply Irresistible comes to mind when thinking of Island Inns fabulous, "Traditions On the beach restaurant". The character, warmth, scrupulous food along with picturesque views of Sunset will not disappoint you. Our family has enjoyed the welcoming greetings from Andrea, and the amazing service from his family and staff. See you again in November. For those who are fortunate to be on Island be sure to book Easter dinner and dancing. The Parsons ☀️ - H3227KHlaurenp - 3/24/2022 

5 star rating Worth Every Penny! Thank you, Danny, for a lovely experience at Traditions! As our server, you took care of all of our needs and gave us great menu suggestions. The duck entree was amazing and so was the “by the glass” Cabernet. Make this one of your dinner stops during your Sanibel stay! - D3248RHmaryc - 2/28/2022 

5 star rating Unbelievable Setting ! Simply Irresistible comes to mind when we think of all the wonderful times we have had at Traditions. From the ambience of Sun Set Views,Special Drinks,Gourmet Dinners and after diner dancing and Andrea's and staffs personal touch.. WOW says it all. Make your reservation for no disappoints upon arrival. Enjoy a piece of Sanibel's Paradise. We will be back soon... David & Denise Parsons - 4Sanibel - 1/12/2022 

5 star rating We have tried a lot of restaurants on the island and don't let this unassuming place keep you away. It was one of our favorite cocktails and meals. Started with Sanibel Sunset and then onto any one of their great salads and a must is the lobster ravioli. Truly worth returning for this! Music was enjoyable as well- fun evening. We will return. Very nice staff as well. - Lisa D. - 1/11/2022 

4 star rating Almost great Arrived Christmas day for a five-day stay at the Island Inn (Traditions is their on-sight dining venue). The restaurant staff was amazing from the initial seating through the end of the night which was spent at the bar. The host and hostess made us feel like the family.

The lobster bisque was amazing; unfortunately the appetizer and entrees were just above average. I had the scallops and wife had the chicken...sadly, nothing to write home about.

Like I said, the staff was good to go, the food was just okay. - Gunner0721 - 12/28/2021 

4 star rating Came here with a large group and the greates pleasant surprise was LIVE MUSIC! The couple performing had incredible breadth and great voices for golden 80s type music. The crowd looked like that age demographic too.

Food was pretty good. We had assortment of apps --seared tuna was good, others just OK (shrimp, spring rolls, crab cakes). We had the filet and the grouper. Filet was good (even though the waiter said they couldn't guarantee it would be medium rare), but grouper disappointing. The tiramisu was terrific.

We danced the night away and had a great time. So come for music, tuna, steak and tiramisu! - Kathy T. - 12/11/2021 

4 star rating Thanksgiving Dinner - 3 days ago My wife and I and our children and grown grandchildren ( 9 adults) had Thanksgiving Dinner at Traditions on the Beach. We had a great table overlooking the water and our waiter, Tony was excellent. The food was very good. We had reservations for 4:30pm and were promptly seated. Although the service was slow, (it was Thanksgiving and the restaurant was full) we did not mine because we not in a hurry and we were enjoying the atmosphere. The one thing that bothered us was that the owner came over to us right after I paid the bill (which was close to $1000 with the tip, and indicated that we should move to the lounge if we wanted to talk. I did not see any people waiting for the table. Other than that, it was a great Thanksgiving. - bilcon - 11/28/2021 

5 star rating You won’t be disappointed! Everything was top notch. We are staying at the Island Inn and it’s a perfect location. Food, service, atmosphere, and live music was great. - KevinM552 - 11/13/2021 

4 star rating What About Those Oysters!!! Stayed at the Island Inn and ate here twice during our stay. Guests of the hotel get a one time 15% discount . Marie was our server and was excellent. My husband likes Espresso Martinis a VERY certain way and Marie delivered his wishes perfectly to the bartender.
Hubby raved about the New Orleans Oysters offered as an appetizer so much that he had them again later in the week. Best he has ever had (and he has oysters every where we go). My meal choice of shrimp scampi the first evening was more enjoyable than the chicken marsala I ordered at our second visit. He had what we New Yorkers call Fra Diavolo. It was called something else here & He enjoyed it.
Delicious Key Lime Pie which I ordered to go.
Entertainment both evenings. The Place was jumping on Wednesday evening. Everyone was dancing . Great fun.

(Better lighting between the resort and the restaurant would be beneficial. It was dark and someone could get injured) - Antsgirl85 - 11/07/2021 

5 star rating Anniversary Dinner! Had our anniversary dinner at Traditions since we were staying at the Island Inn. The staff was wonderful, thanks Marie for the great service. The food was very good, nice dinner music while we ate as well. Great ambience and friendly atmosphere. Worth a night out at Traditions. - toddsandy - 10/25/2021 

5 star rating Everything on the menu is fantastic. Definitely go early for tapas, and stay for the music. If you are looking for a great evening of fine dining, music and top of the line service, this is the place on Sanibel. Carlo behind the bar and Andrea greeting every person, makes every night special. You really can't go wrong at Traditions. - Kevin W. - 10/19/2021 

5 star rating Nick provided great service. food was wonderful.
he Gave honest opinions about menu
itemsLive music was fun
surf and turf was tasty and filling.
Salmon was a giant serving. - Pa B. - 10/11/2021 

5 star rating Wonderful Tapas Happy Hour David, the bartender is a pro. Welcomed us with a friendly smile and offered suggestions for cocktails and food. Both the Tapas and drink selections are top notch!
We plan to have dinner in their gulf front restaurant later this week. - karenfZ1386NI - 10/06/2021 

4 star rating No sunset views but food is good Went there for a special anniversary dinner hoping to enjoy a sunset but with a neighboring building blocking the sunset I’m not sure how anyone ever really has found this place notable for sunsets. However the food was amazing. Lobster ravioli and key lime pie were best on the island. Service was good too. The music was a fun touch, but definitely more of the 60+ crowd. - 101jessicau - 10/02/2021 

4 star rating We chose Traditions on the Beach for our end of trip dinner with all the adults from our group. This is a large, high quality restaurant adjacent to a beach resort. Despite the name, the tables are inside a building and not actually outside on a beach. Which was good, because it was intermittently rainy the day we were there.

This is a restaurant that highly prizes service. Everything was polite, prompt and thoughtful, with many small touches enhancing the experience.

The menu is broad and creative, with a wide range of interesting dishes and new twists on favourites. We all found something great to order. Cost was about $70/head including drinks and some desserts, which seemed like a good value for the quality.

I had the lamb (which was great) and soup, and my wife had the surf and turf which was also great. Flavours were good, but not amazing.

This was a great experience. I would come back again for sure. - Martyn L. - 9/18/2021 

5 star rating Wonderful Meal and Service - Great Way to Celebrate Our 42nd Anniversary We decided to celebrate our 42nd wedding anniversary (8-17-2021) with a dinner at Traditions at the Island Inn on Sanibel Island, Florida. We were staying at the Inn so no driving necessary. We arrived early on that Tuesday evening so we had the choice to enjoy the 3 Course Early Sunset Menu. We knew we were in for a great night when our super special server Antoine came to our table.
After selecting a very nice Malbec wine, we enjoyed the french bread served with both butter and a great eggplant spread then we both ordered the Organic Greens Caprese salads, For our entrees, my wife ordered the Artichoke Chicken Piccata without capers (too salty for her) and I ordered the Pepper Steak & Frites with a Cognac Green Peppercorn sauce. For dessert, my wife ordered the Tiramisu and I ordered the Key Lime pie. Every dish was exceptional - we loved every bite. During the meal we also enjoyed great background dinner music by Danny Sinoff and Friends. Antoine and the rest of the staff at Traditions surely made our special night one to remember fondly. We highly recommend Traditions, especially for a special occasion. - Larry K - 8/26/2021 

5 star rating Great evening! We were a party of five did not have a reservation but was seated immediately. The service was exceptional as well as the food. I will definitely be returning back for another meal. - 926athenam - 8/14/2021 

4 star rating Definitely caters to an older crowd, but as long as you don't mind that vibe, the service and food are quite good. Made a delicious vegan option for us (grilled veggies and a Moroccan couscous plate). - A D. - 7/26/2021 

5 star rating Our new favorite restaurant! This is an amazing restaurant! Service was impeccable. Michael tending to each and every need. His years of experience was easy to see. We were seated at a window table with a beautiful view. Our food was amazing the seafood tower was chilled perfectly and our Carpaccio was amazing as was the clam chowder was thick hot and full of clams. Our meals were served hot and the expertise on plating was well noted. Every dish was amazing. We were lucky enough to visit on a Tues. When they have live Jazz music which we throughly enjoyed. They even took requests and played Girl From Inpanema. One of my favorites. This is a hidden gem on Sanibel. This was our 1st time but it will not be our last. This is my newest favorite restaurant in Sanibel located inside the Island Inn. - Donna M - 7/22/2021 

5 star rating This place is appropriately named! Lots of classy touches that made this the hidden gem of Sanibel. It's quieter and off the main strip of Sanibel, located at the Island Inn on W. Gulf Drive. Lovely seating with ocean views await. Formal type dining room though many guests were casual. Live music, with one man playing both piano and saxophone (make sure to tip!). Very good service. Loved the Sanibel sunrise drink. Excellent and varied kids menu! Delicious bread and key lime pie. The vegetable pasta was good, and the salad was dressed in a surprisingly delicious tropical vinaigrette dressing. My mom loved it and wants to come back here first next time we are on the island! - Sarah S. - 7/18/2021 

5 star rating Relatively expensive but worth it, ask to be served by Michael! One of the very few Sanibel / Captiva restaurants that are on the beach. Cuisine was excellent++, and service by long time team member, Michael, was over the top. He could write his own ticket at any of the best restaurants in America. His wife, Rebecca, owns/runs McIntosh books in Sanibel, so a shout out to her and her fine store that we also went on to patronize.

There is spacious dance floor, and entertainment by Dean was superb. The restaurant is ideal for a special night out, or any night out. - loubetti - 6/19/2021 

5 star rating We have been to The Bubble Room (3 hour wait/food was okay/$100 for 2), Mucky Duck was decent $100 for 2, Island Cow was okay too. This place was better food than any of the other pricy places. We spent a little less than $100 for 2 of us. While I wish there were no sauces on my filet, I gave the place a 5. Steak fries were fresh and hot, bread was hot and delivered with butter and a deliciously seasoned olive oil. My shrimp cocktail was MUCH better than any of the restaurants I mentioned above. The creme brûlée was great. Our server, Paul, was extremely attentive... as were the other staff assisting him. The crowd was lively... not just 70 year olds as someone previously stated. I have never been a fan of live music; however, the performers we saw were talented and chose songs based on the audience. It did throw off a bit of The Love Boat vibe from the 70's-80's but we enjoyed ourselves. I felt the food was much better than The Bubble Room or Mucky Duck. - Lori J. - 6/11/2021 

5 star rating Wonderful exquisite food we ate the lobster ravioli and was as good as we ever had it. - Alberto D. - 6/05/2021 

5 star rating My husband and I truly enjoyed this hidden gem. The atmosphere, location, live music and food were all exceptional. We sat with a party of 19 but staff was prompt and courteous. The restaurant is located just feet from the ocean. I'll definitely come back. This is a nice place to bring family and friends when visiting. - Cynthia B. - 6/02/2021 

5 star rating Probably the best restaurant on the island. They had a live pianist which added to a lovely evening, - Kate V. - 5/23/2021 




Connect on Facebook


Upcoming Events

Mon 23

Woody Brubaker

May 23 @ 6:30 pm - 10:00 pm

HOURS OF OPERATION

Our Bar & Dining Room are OPEN
Monday-Sunday, 4PM-Late

RESTAURANT CLOSED:
•07/04/2022•
•9/4/22 - 9/26/22•
•01/15/2023•
•02/12/2023•