Reviews

We’d Love to Hear About Your Experience!

Traditions On The Beach, the favorite amongst locals for Sanibel Island Restaurants, welcomes feedback as a part of our ongoing effort to deliver top quality dining experiences. Please help us continue to learn and grow by filling out the form below. We appreciate your input!

5 star rating I absolutely love going to this restaurant. Aside from their amazing blending of flavors and food, their Italian dishes are absolutely delicious. Their crafted cocktails are unmatched in my mind and I LOVE their amaretto bitter cocktail, and their tequila drink is dangerous haha. The atmosphere is comfortable, classy, and laid-back and everyone does their job so well. Parking is ample and easy. I love their jazz nights and the fact that they have a dance floor. It's like you are a part of their family every time you have dinner there. Don't miss out, and try 'Traditions' - Ashley A. - 2/25/2021 

5 star rating My husband and I are celebrating our 30th aniversary and stopped for happy hour here. Superb place. We had a glass of wine and a glass of white sangría with some appetizers. As good as it gets! A real gem. - Isabel U. - 2/23/2021 

4 star rating This is an upper-scale restaurant with great food and crafted drinks. I had the veal with artichokes....outstanding, and a couple of old fashions (they were among the best that I have had). The rest of our party enjoyed their dishes equally. There was a female trio playing music and they were very good. They made the whole dining experience better. I would suggest this restaurant if you don't mind paying a bit more, cause you will get your money's worth! - Roger I. - 12/10/2020 

5 star rating Awesome vintage Sanibel feel with great food/drink As you walk into the bar you ight think that you have time-warped back to the set of 'Dirty Dancing.' This resort has that sort of timeless feel and a lot of great old photos on the walls to tell the story. We usually hang at the bar and grab a crabmeat cocktail (lump cram meat in a martini glass). Delicious, and the actual martinis are pretty damn respectable too. - Jason S - 12/06/2020 

4 star rating Nice Setting and Decor It's on the beach. It's a very nice restaurant. It's food is okay, but wasn't our favorite. But, I think we would go back there again. - BillLouisville - 11/21/2020 

5 star rating Excellent food. Great service. Visited recently on a weekday evening. There was a steady flow of diners and the restaurant staff was careful to maintain social distancing among the tables. Service was prompt and friendly. The crab martini had a generous amount of lump crab and a tasty remoulade sauce. The steak was well prepared and tender. - DoxieGal58 - 11/05/2020 

5 star rating I'm so happy my favorite restaurant was open. I had broiled grouper with mushroom risotto, others had scallops, steak and fruiti de mare. Delicious! Pasta was perfect! - Teresa R. - 10/21/2020 

5 star rating Gorgeous beachfront views,Superior service, exquisite meals, and amazing entertainment. A girls trip getaway, we always enjoy a visit to Traditions. This five day trip we were blessed to have the opportunity to dine three evenings. Friday evening we arrived on the island and knew Marvilla & Woody would be performing so of course we chose Traditions. Saturday also had live entertainment so we chose to also dine and dance at this marvelous establishment. Our last evening of vacation was Tuesday and we knew one last fabulous meal would complete our perfect time together. Thank you Andre, Carlo, Paul and staff. As always the food was outstanding, drinks were perfect, and you all were so kind. Looking forward to the next visit. - Susan O - 10/15/2020 

5 star rating Underrated Location with a View and Entertainment We were staying at Island Inn and decided to have our anniversary dinner at Traditions. We were a little hesitant because we had our 2 young children with us but the experience was excellent, the best meal we had in Sanibel. They had live music and a dance floor, a delicious menu, and excellent service. My husband's steak was the best he had on the island, and we all enjoyed dancing to the music. Although the crowd definitely tended to be on the older side, everyone was so warm and welcoming towards our family. We really enjoyed our experience at Traditions - it takes the cake out of all the restaurants we visited in Sanibel. - alexisgolden - 10/14/2020 

5 star rating We love this place! We come every year to dance and have dinner. The food is good and reasonable. They have singers on Saturday - if you like to dance - this is a great place on the island! - Leslie R. - 7/14/2020 

5 star rating Romantic dinner and dancing. We split a Caesar salad, I had the best filet steak ever served over mashers, with a little sauce and beautiful veggies. My wife had an excellent fish dinner. Wine, dinner, and dancing at a very reasonable price plus a gratuity for the musicians. - Wjr R. - 7/13/2020 

5 star rating I was here with a group of girls during a bachelorette weekend. We had a fabulous time. The owner welcomed us, our server Franklin was attentive and patient, the food was great, and the musical duo was fantastic. A great place to unwind and celebrate. Loved everything about this place - Stevie L. - 6/20/2020 

5 star rating WHAT A FANTASTIC EXPERIENCE!! Visited Sanibel last weekend for a bachelorette getaway for my daughter. I Made the reservation at Traditions prior to our trip and informed them that there would be seven women and what we were celebrating. To say they were they ready for us would be an understatement! We were welcomed by the owner and provided a waiter who was assigned only to our table. Franklin was absolutely fantastic!!! The food was wonderful and the band was talented and so much fun. What an upbeat vibe. Everyone was so happy and friendly. We danced and celebrated all evening. The owner and Franklin brought out Limoncello, called our group up to the dance floor, and made a toast to my daughter's future happiness. What a wonderful memory for all of us!!!! Thank you for your hospitality - Lorraine B. - 6/20/2020 

5 star rating Literally, THE best restaurant in town. High class food and atmosphere without the snooty attitude. Go on a Saturday night and listen to Dusk - and amazing husband wife duo. The food is amazing. I recommend the Tequila Mockingbird to drink (like a key lime margarita). JUMBO crabmeat crispelle (holy crabmeat!!). The lamb tangine, lobster ravioli. All amazing! When I move here (some day) I will be here regularly. Thanks for ANOTHER great evening! - Angie M. - 6/13/2020 

5 star rating My first visit to Traditions won't be my last! I took my dad and step mom there.... trying to give them a little Sanibel time! Yes, the place has been there forever... but I was impressed from start to finish. Great hospitality, slight view of the beach . Our meals were well prepared and presented. I had the Grouper over couscous... very light and tasty. Dad had the strip steak and step mom had the salmon. The $29 pri-fixe special was well worth it. The piano player starred at 6:30pm... not overwhelming great background music... though with the dance front, I bet this place gets hopping at times! Our server Franklin was highly attentive and welcoming. A very nice, laid back evening:) You can take a walk on the beach after dinner for sunset - Christine E. - 5/20/2020 

5 star rating I live for the Pasta emiliane, I live for the Pasta emiliane, it’s the best bolognese I’ve ever had! Can not wait to have it again! Thanks for the good service, Carlo, Nick, Mike, frenchy, and the entire rest of the crew ❤️ - Sanibella2665 - 4/03/2020 

5 star rating Visited 3 times in 3 times in 4 days Great hospitality! Accommodated food allergies, amazing food, wonderful experience! We loved the great service and personal touch. - P2158VFaliced - 4/01/2020 

Once again Traditions is there to be of service.. We all know the ambience wont be the same as being in the restaurant seated at your favourite table overlooking the gulf with the sunset peering in. David and Denise David Parsons - David P. - 3/24/2020 

The best chef! Great atmosphere and dance floor -classy musical guests. Always a memorable evening. - Revonda S. - 3/20/2020 

5 star rating romantic dinner This place is my top choice for eating on the island. The atmosphere is romantic and they have a wonderful older man playing the piano and sax. the food is fantastic.
very pleased - Monticor - 3/18/2020 

5 star rating Michael is our waiter - the best ! Foot was fantastic. Had the lamb and grouper. Very well done. Eggplant spread with bread - great touch Well worth the trip to the island. This place is old school food and service. Don't miss this!! - Mike C. - 3/11/2020 

5 star rating Delightful, delicious dinner My husband and I were looking for a restaurant on Sanibel where we could have a view of the water. We found Traditions on the Beach through Trip Advisor and booked a table. We were brought into a spacious, airy dining room. A pianist was playing, but it was quiet enough for conversation. We had a great view of the water and beach, as did many of the tables in the room. I had the Grilled Prawns Scampi, which was fabulous. The shrimp were huge and the scampi sauce was nice and tangy. It was served with sautéed spinach and angel hair with a plum tomato sauce. I could not have been more happy. My husband chose the Natural Veal Artichoke, very similar to a veal piccata, which was done perfectly. We would be very happy to return. - LoveRetirement678 - 3/08/2020 

5 star rating Where the locals go Tucked into West Gulf drive, one of the best in Sanibel for upscale food with fair prices. We meet folks there at least once a year and I always have their Veal Chop - outstanding. Good bar service and wine selection. Lots of seafood, of course, as well as other well prepared choices. Most nights they have some music for your enjoyment. Reservations a must 239-472-4559 - bonitabuffalo - 3/04/2020 

5 star rating Wonderful Evening Took my mom (77yrs) and sister (54yrs) to Traditions for our last night on Sanibel. I read many reviews and most were quite accurate, but I'd like to correct a few. 1) Valet, yes the parking lot is right there, you don't need Valet service BUT it's a nice touch and it's free. The guys were sweet, tip them a couple of bucks and feel like you're a rock star. 2) This is not upscale dining. The service and food are very good, but you can wear just about anything. Many of the "older" folks were dressed nicely, but there were some with jeans and even a young person in a hoodie. It was sweet to see the older couples on their date night! 3) Yes, the dining room lacks character. It's basically one big open room. 4) Service is a bit slow... but isn't that nice for a change!? Don't go there if you're in a hurry. They are not interested in turning tables and rushing you out of there. Relax and enjoy! 5) Music! Friday night singer had a beautiful voice.. great 80's music. 6) We arrived at 7, and wish we had been there early enough for the Early Bird 3 course meal...looks like a great deal, plus you get the sunset! 7). The Food! yum! Steak, scallops and lobster ravioli all cooked perfectly and nicely seasoned!
This is not the young, beachy themed, wild and crazy, ocean front dining. It's classic, delicious food, good music, and a very enjoyable evening. - shellyd3 - 2/25/2020 

I really love the live music, takes you back to a more romantic time - Kevin R. - 2/22/2020 

5 star rating best of Sanibel - elegant ambiance... great cooking....music beautiful candlelit ambiance, the best menu
seafood pasta spaghettini is amazing, caesar salad is the best ...warm bread basket served with eggplant capanata spread...gelato with fresh strawberries - healthy menu - try the Sunset early bird menu which includes 3 courses - come early to have a cocktail in the beautiful lounge area... music starts at 6:30
not to be missed - chiantiConnecticut - 2/21/2020 

5 star rating Great evening of food, drinks, Great evening of food, drinks, music & ambience at Traditions made even better by our attentive & fun waiter, Ryan. We always include dinner out at Traditions on our annual
Sanibel trip - never disappoints! - U2251TDbarbarac - 2/17/2020 

4 star rating Dinner w Friends Prix Fixe It was recommended by friends to go to the sunset dinner feom 5 to 6. Prix fix. I had a seafood and spaghettini dish and my husband a beef filet.
Both excellent. Very good service and guy playing classic pop songs on the piano. on the beach in giant beach chair excellent for a photo op. - 615pattik - 2/15/2020 

Great food and service. Hey always have entertainment however tonight’s singer and sax player were excellent. Are, drank and danced nice night! - Tina R. - 2/08/2020 

4 star rating Atmosphere romantic and the house singer set the mood with very good music and her melodic voice. Food was well prepared our server Oresto was pleasant and attentive. Drinks were also very good. Cold seafood plate was fresh and both of our main courses well prepared. - Tina R. - 2/05/2020 




Connect on Facebook


Upcoming Events

Tue 02

Danny Sinoff & Friends!

March 2 @ 6:30 pm - 9:30 pm

HOURS OF OPERATION

Our Bar & Dining Room are OPEN
Monday-Sunday, 4PM-Late