Reviews

We’d Love to Hear About Your Experience!

Traditions On The Beach, the favorite amongst locals for Sanibel Island Restaurants, welcomes feedback as a part of our ongoing effort to deliver top quality dining experiences. Please help us continue to learn and grow by filling out the form below. We appreciate your input!

5 star rating Wonderful Evening Took my mom (77yrs) and sister (54yrs) to Traditions for our last night on Sanibel. I read many reviews and most were quite accurate, but I'd like to correct a few. 1) Valet, yes the parking lot is right there, you don't need Valet service BUT it's a nice touch and it's free. The guys were sweet, tip them a couple of bucks and feel like you're a rock star. 2) This is not upscale dining. The service and food are very good, but you can wear just about anything. Many of the "older" folks were dressed nicely, but there were some with jeans and even a young person in a hoodie. It was sweet to see the older couples on their date night! 3) Yes, the dining room lacks character. It's basically one big open room. 4) Service is a bit slow... but isn't that nice for a change!? Don't go there if you're in a hurry. They are not interested in turning tables and rushing you out of there. Relax and enjoy! 5) Music! Friday night singer had a beautiful voice.. great 80's music. 6) We arrived at 7, and wish we had been there early enough for the Early Bird 3 course meal...looks like a great deal, plus you get the sunset! 7). The Food! yum! Steak, scallops and lobster ravioli all cooked perfectly and nicely seasoned!
This is not the young, beachy themed, wild and crazy, ocean front dining. It's classic, delicious food, good music, and a very enjoyable evening. - shellyd3 - 2/25/2020 

I really love the live music, takes you back to a more romantic time - Kevin R. - 2/22/2020 

5 star rating best of Sanibel - elegant ambiance... great cooking....music beautiful candlelit ambiance, the best menu
seafood pasta spaghettini is amazing, caesar salad is the best ...warm bread basket served with eggplant capanata spread...gelato with fresh strawberries - healthy menu - try the Sunset early bird menu which includes 3 courses - come early to have a cocktail in the beautiful lounge area... music starts at 6:30
not to be missed - chiantiConnecticut - 2/21/2020 

5 star rating Great evening of food, drinks, Great evening of food, drinks, music & ambience at Traditions made even better by our attentive & fun waiter, Ryan. We always include dinner out at Traditions on our annual
Sanibel trip - never disappoints! - U2251TDbarbarac - 2/17/2020 

4 star rating Dinner w Friends Prix Fixe It was recommended by friends to go to the sunset dinner feom 5 to 6. Prix fix. I had a seafood and spaghettini dish and my husband a beef filet.
Both excellent. Very good service and guy playing classic pop songs on the piano. on the beach in giant beach chair excellent for a photo op. - 615pattik - 2/15/2020 

Great food and service. Hey always have entertainment however tonight’s singer and sax player were excellent. Are, drank and danced nice night! - Tina R. - 2/08/2020 

5 star rating Saturday evening at Traditions Some may not like Traditions, its kind of old school. Good bar. Nice restaurant with good dinner menu and wine list. Wine came quickly to our table. Appetizers arrived quickly. Dinner was slow in arrival. We did wait a good while, but we enjoyed the entertainment - for us - really nice. Might not appeal to younger crowd. Dinners we ordered were very good. We had their veal special and grouper special. Both were very good. We will be back. Enjoyed our time at Traditions. - 626lloydm - 2/02/2020 

Excellent fun waiter, fabulous happy hour, the music was great!! Don’t miss seeing Dusk Duo! Sunsets were fabulous.. 5 out of 5! Best food , atmosphere and entertainment!!👍 - Banjo D. - 1/29/2020 

Very nice staff and the musician was fantastic. He played piano then saxophone. A mix of bossa nova and east listening. The food was rated a 5/5 for sure. I will return. - Erika L. - 1/27/2020 

It was our final dinner on the island, and we are so glad we chose Traditions On The Beach! The atmosphere was very special—elegant with an old Floridian flare. We loved the service (great job, Franklin), the food, and the duo entertainment!!
(Yumm—chocolate lava cake for dessert.)
Very lovely, romantic evening on the island! - Linda Bosma - 1/27/2020 

4 star rating Quality food in a relaxed setting This restaurant is off the beaten path but worth a visit. Tables along the beach side offer views of the gulf. Live music nightly varies from jazz piano to old-fashioned nightclub songs. The food is, as the name suggests, quite traditional, but the quality is quite good. Don't expect to be wowed by the inventive combination of flavors (go to Sweet Meilssa's for that), but DO expect high quality ingredients and careful preparations. It's a peaceful spot without the tourist trappings, but it can be noisy on weekends. - NatureLoverMass - 1/27/2020 

We went to dinner on a Sunday, and I am Delighted that we did! The Grouper was cooked to perfection, and the Entertainment was lovely.
It's a romantic place, and the old Florida ambiance was inviting, and comfortable. The only complaint was how long it took the food to be at our table. I suppose that they were short handed that day. I loved the beautiful beach location. 🏝 - Dawn McBurney-Hibben - 1/22/2020 

The filet mignon was delicious. Beautiful Gulf View. - Monica D. - 1/20/2020 

5 star rating Relaxing Dinner My wife and I ate here twice and thoroughly enjoyed it. Dinners consisted of grouper, steak, scallops The appetizers of lump crab and shrimp were excellent. Each time we had dinner there it took us almost three hours to finish. We were not rushed in the least. Great service from Tony. There was live music and a dance floor. Very old school restaurant. So if you are in a hurry this not the place for you but if you want a great dinner, great service in a relaxed atmosphere this where you want to go. - Begin325 - 1/17/2020 

Old style, Florida charm restaurant and lounge, inside the Island Inn Resort. Beautiful views of the beach. Great food and service. Live entertainment throughout the year. I'm one of the vocalists here. Come out and see us! - Marvilla Marzán - 1/14/2020 

5 star rating cooking par excellence ... Fantastic evening......excellent cocktails in the lounge...amazing ambiance...
great music...cooking is great...best Caesar salad...amazing entree's....
the best of Sanibel......try a Filet Mignon, or a Gulf Spagettini .........the best gelato..
beautiful dining room with great music and dancing..... - chiantiConnecticut - 1/14/2020 

5 star rating Traditions - of EXCELLENCE! The ambiance, was perfect. Andrea greeted as at the door and escorted us to a perfect table. The servers were well coordinated. The food was absolutely perfect. Four of us dining with four different meals raved about the flavor in each dish. (*Two of us have gluten allergies........the chef took care of us, excellently!) The music and dancing was an added plus, great, great fun.
We are locals and can assure you, Traditions is our restaurant of choice. - Sanibelian2 - 1/08/2020 

We are currently staying at this hotel and we decided to have dinner here this evening.
Absolutely stunning! The best that we’ve had in our entire stay in Florida. - Clare O. - 1/07/2020 

4 star rating Beautiful sunset view. Beautiful sunset view. We arrived at 5:30 and were seated immediately. Had a perfect table and were able to have a nice view. We ordered tasty cocktails and took a quick walk out to the water to see the sunset. Once we returned, we ordered from the prix fixe menu option which is available from 5-6 only. I selected the soup as the first course... it was a crab bisque , one of the best I have had. Truly outstanding! They also served warm bread with butter and baba ganoosh.. tapenade That was fabulous as well!

Then we had our main entree. I had the seafood spaghettini with the red sauce versus the Alfredo. I would not get it again w the red sauce. I saw the Alfredo go by and it looked excellent. The red sauce was not good at all. But I ate it. My daughter had the filet with Gorgonzola. That was fantastic. Everything about that dish was perfect! Ended with the key lime pie , which was good. For $29. For the prix fixe, I feel the value was very good. I didn’t think the service was very good, but it could have just been our waiter.

They had lovely live music as well and it was a lovely addition to the dinner.

I would recommend this restaurant and would return. - Lesliewin - 1/02/2020 

5 star rating Excellent Experience We were in Sanibel for a week and this was our favorite dinner experience. Food was delicious and the service was great. We saw a wonderful sunset and loved the live music. We will be back. - Jean W - 1/01/2020 

This restaurant was VERY busy, so make sure to get a reservation. That being said we were so grateful to get to spend our first night in Sanibel eating at Traditions On the Beach. We loved their shrimp pasta and Irish salmon. Their chocolate lava cake, superb. - Elizabeth Lee - 12/31/2019 

3 course early-bird for $29. Filet is an option, key-lime is unreal with lime sorbet! - Mark W. - 12/31/2019 

Very good fish!! Great service. - Mary L. - 12/30/2019 

5 star rating Anniversary dinner Always visit this restaurant when we are staying on Sanibel. The food and service are excellent, we were given time between courses which we like .The pre dinner cocktails were excellent. Once again it met our expectations. - Garylebusseau - 12/30/2019 

Not only was the bar service and experience absolutely top notch, but the dinner was WONDERFUL! We came on Saturday and were privileged enough to hear from Dean and Kathy, Duo After Dusk and their exceptional live music. Totally blew away my expectations...try the lobster ravioli! Yum!! ❤️ - Lucy Hazelet - 12/22/2019 

Great food and service. Ambiance and piano playing was perfect. - Susan S. - 12/12/2019 

5 star rating Went to this restaurant for the first time tonight and had a wonderful experience.  Everything was nicely decorated for the holidays and we were greeted  by a very friendly gentleman as soon as we arrived. The atmosphere was very nice, our wait staff was attentive and the live music was really nice.  Our meals arrived for our party of 4.  We we all ordered different entrees and everyone was happy, from the duck, to the lamb, to the grouper to the veal.  Cheesecake and key lime pie for dessert was delicious.  We will definitely be back. - Arlene V. - 12/07/2019 

5 star rating Thanksgiving Had my Thanksgiving dinner at this restaurant. The Crab appetizer was phenomenal, the veal with Lobster entree was absolutely delicious. Great live music making a festive atmosphere. - whaler180 - 11/29/2019 

5 star rating A real gem What a great place to eat and drink!! Great food, awesome cocktails and such a warm welcome. If you are on Sanibel then I recommend you visit. The family are a mixture of Italian and British who love their football we absolutely loved our two evenings there!!! - jonah63 - 11/28/2019 

5 star rating Awesome, from the drinks on! This wasn't our first trip to Traditions. It's Tradition for us to go here on our stay in November to celebrate my husband's birthday. The food is exceptional (Italian seafood and more), the drinks are delish (try an Aperol Spritzer) and the service is incredible.

This is one of the more expensive places on the Island, but it's well worth it. Lobster ravioli, scallops, shrimp, you name it, they have it. - YankeeMiss - 11/20/2019 




Connect on Facebook


Join Our Mailing List


HOURS OF OPERATION

Our Sunset Bar & Lounge Is Open for Tapas & Cocktails at 4pm, Monday-Sunday.

Our Dining Room Service Begins at 5pm, Monday-Sunday.

*Check Our Entertainment Calendar for Daily Events & Times*

CLOSED February 2, 2019.